How Okanagan Wine is Rated

How Okanagan Wine is Rated

Wine Ratings Explained

Wine ratings don’t necessarily indicate how delicious a wine is. Instead, wines are scored based on production quality and typicity. Typicity is how much the traits of a particular wine ‘typify’ the style and region it’s from.

How Wine Ratings Are Like Dog Shows

The winning dog is the one that most typifies its breed. If a dog has unique markings or funny legs not typical for the breed, it won’t be rated as high.

50-59 wines are flawed and undrinkable
60-69 wines are flawed and not recommended but drinkable
70-79 wines are flawed and taste average
80-84 wines are ‘above average’ to ‘good’
85-90 wines are ‘good’ to ‘very good’
90-94 wines are ‘superior’ to ‘exceptional’
95-100 wines are benchmark examples or ‘classic’

Another way of finding a rating of a wine is to review Wine Awards.

Best of Varietal Awards
This competition recognizes the top British Columbia Varietal wines across different categories. Experienced and certified wine judges from the trade will select the best wine in each varietal category and award gold and silver medals to the other winners. The British Columbia Best of Varietal Wine Competition features a unique judging process that allows each panel of judges to evaluate all of the wines in any given category allowing a direct comparison for selecting the best wines.

British Columbia Wine Awards

Welcome to the British Columbia Wine Awards – the premier British Columbia wine judging competition that recognizes the excellence in winemaking for all British Columbia wineries. The British Columbia Wine Awards are generously sponsored by Farm Credit Canada, ContainerWorld, Grant Thornton and TricorBraun Winepak. These awards offer our British Columbia wine industry the opportunity to have their wines judged by 9 of the most respected wine judges from across North America and be awarded medals of excellence and be recognized in a comprehensive public relations and sales campaign organized by the Okanagan Wine Festivals.


The medal structure – Gold, silver, and bronze medals will be awarded as has been the traditional practice. This year we are introducing two new awards – Platinum medals and the Premier’s Wine Award.

Platinum medals will be awarded to a wine that is judged unanimously to be good enough to be Gold by all 9 Judges. The Platinum medals will help to showcase the varietals and blends that distinguish our wine region. Our other new award is the Premier’s Wine Award. From all Platinum medals, the judges will meet and based on consensus, the best wine in British Columbia will be named the Premier’s Wine and will be presented by our Premier.

No Comments

Post A Comment

Don't Just Take Our Word For It

We take pride in ensuring you have the best Okanagan wine tour experience.